British Courts (Civil)

England and Wales

1. Supreme Court (House of Lord) (above 5 judges)

2. Court of Appeal (3 judges)

3. Divisions: High Court (only judge)

- Chancery including "Court of Protection" (Mental Capacity Act 2005)

- Family

- Queen's Bench (legacy)

4. County Courts (only judge)

5. Magistrates' Courts (only judge)


1. Supreme Court (House of Lord) (above 5 judges)

2. House of Session:

- Inner House of Court of Session (3-5 judges)

- Outer House of Court of Session (only in Edinburgh) (only judge)

3. Sheriff Courts (only judge) (including Sheriff Principal)

Featured Posts
Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square

(CC) BY Tung Lam HKN

This license lets others distribute, remix, adapt, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. This is the most accommodating of licenses offered.

Recommended for maximum dissemination and use of licensed materials.